top of page

Hybrid Heatpump/Evacuated solar

The Hybrid heatpump/evacuated solar thermal- the main advantage of this is that is can reduces your heating cost significantly, For me in my climate in central Manitoba Canada it has reduces my heating cost by about 80 - 90%. Where my average winter temperature is approximately -16C and a rated climate zone of 2 ( periods colder then -40c).

Basically with the hybrid system in my environment the evacuated solar tubes do about +60% of my domestic heating needs . then the heat pump does the remaing 30% ( which has a COP 3-4) so it reduces the energy requirement by 66- 75% of that remaining 30% . which equates to about 10 - 20% of the energy requirements of conventional heating. so in Manitoba the average household energy requirements per year for heating ones home and hot water by electricity is +$1500/y I have reduced mine to less then $150 per year .

In general I have found that if the night time temperatures are warmer then -10C the evacuated solar tubes can do 100% of the heating needs for a 24 hr period. if you have an average sunny winter day..

The Basic design;


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
  • Google+ Black Square
bottom of page