top of page

Daily Heating Consumption

My Hybrid system consist of 7kw heat pump and ~7 kw of evacuated solar panels- and enough thermal storage to match the temperature differential I wanted .. 7kwh production of heat over a ~6 hour period is 42 kw of thermal storage which is about 900 litre at a temp differential of 40c. rise per day.. if you captured 100% of the heat. in reality you capture about 75% . the rest is lost to ambient air of the structure (15%) and (10% to the outside environment) since I want my system to heat relatively fast. my storage buffer is about 600 litres Currently my day time run time of evacuated solar tubes is about 5 hours. 35kw*.75 = 26kwh of stored heat.

as you can see demonstrated from this graph of my energy production from my ~3kw panel set evacuated solar tubes produced about 13.75 kwh of stored heat

Current Daily Solar Thermal Production on a ~3kw set

now here a 24 hr graph of my daily heat pump cycle. at the current night time temps of ~ -20C

Heatpump Daily Cycle- which includes domestic hot water heating and structural heating duties

My heat pump came on at 6 am and shut off at roughly 9:30 and that is the current daily cycle. my house has a programmable thermostat. and at night the house is allowed to cool 3 degrees. Technically if I wanted I could turn off my heating system already if I like on sunny days if I did not heat it up those 3 degrees in the morning to 21C and just allowed the sun to heat the house. As house temperature will slow climb to +25C by the end of the day anyway even though the outside temperature is only -10C.

Daily Temperature Graph

on cloudiy day where the solar production is well below normal my Day time heating will be covered by the minimal solar production of that day . and I have limited night time reserve of a couple hours . but generally for those type of days my heat pump comes on for 7 - 10 minutes once an hour at average winter time temperatures.

Summary:

In the ten years that i have operated this system. it basically will break down to this as heating requirement. In my region one can expect the normal heating season to begins Oct 1st to June 1st. with my solar hybrid system it has reduced it significantly. to where I have to start to supplement my solar heating with another source.

Oct 1st - Nov 20th -- 100% of my heating is done by solar

Nov 21st - Dec 15th -- >40% of my heating is done by solar

Dec 16th - Feb 10th -- <40% of my heating is done by solar

Feb 11th - Mar 10th -- <60% of my heating is done by solar

Mar 11th - Apr 1st -- >80% of my heating is done by solar

Apr 2nd - June 1st --- 100% of my heating is done by solar


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
  • Google+ Black Square
bottom of page